rod east memorial fellowship


The Fellowship

The Rod East Memorial Fellowship is awarded on a biennial basis, in recognition of the very significant contribution made by Rod East to the Librarianship Profession. Rod was Chief Librarian at the City of Noarlunga from 1981 to 1986. Under his leadership, Noarlunga Library became the first joint-use library in South Australia.

The Fellowship enables a person, involved in the South Australian public library field, to undertake a program of research within Australia or overseas.

It is envisaged that people who have an interest in the field of public librarianship may wish to avail themselves of this opportunity to study some particular aspects or new developments in their profession with ultimate benefit to their employer, the community and themselves.

The Value

The Fellowship provides for a grant of up to $5,000 to cover travel and living expenses and other contingencies associated with a study or research program.


Applications for the 2016 Fellowship are now closed.


Past nominees and fellowship recipients


Kathryn Bloem
Sean Boden
Liz Byrne
Jo Kaeding
Holly Marling
Tania Paull

Jo Kaeding was successful in 2014.  Jo will present her paper and the outcomes of her research at the Public Libraries SA Crawford Awards lunch on Friday 18th November 2016.


Rod East winner 2012Photos from the Rod East and Jim Crawford Awards 2012

German libraries and the Third Place: creating community relevancy in the era of the e-book – lessons for South Australia
by Harriet Winchester